60’s Music and French Protests

On the radio show this week, 45 minutes of great songs of the sixties, followed by a breakdown of how the major protests in France are targeting neo-liberalism.

Voici le fichier programme

  • Donovan – Clara Clairvoyant
  • Donovan – Hurdy Gurdy Man
  • Jefferson Airplane – Today
  • Jefferson Airplane – White Rabbit
  • The Zombies – She’s Not There
  • The Animals – Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
  • The Yardbirds – For Your Love
  • Nancy Sinatra – These Boots Were Made For Walkin’
  • Jimi Hendrix – Voodoo Child
  • Electric Light Orchestra – Strange Magic
  • T. Rex – Mambo Sun
  • Shuggie Oats – Sweet Thang
  • Link Wray – Rumble
  • The Surfaris – Wipe Out
  • The Dixie Cups – Iko Iko
  • The Real News Network

Mixed Bag Beginning with Japan

This Wednesday on the Sweet and Sour Variety Hour, we explore some sounds from Japan, then move all over the place with some old timey stuff.

Here is the file, airing to a million living human souls on CHLY 101.7fm on Wednesday, January 29th 2020


  • Susumu Yokota – Traveler in the Wonderland
  • Susumu Yokota – Song of the Sleeping Forest
  • Yasuaki Shimizu – Kakashi
  • Mariah – Shinzo No Tobira
  • Dip in the Red Pool – On Retinae, West Version
  • Video Age – Hold On (I Was Wrong)
  • Abram Shook – Machinery
  • Moondog – Do Your Thing
  • Jake Xerxes Fussell – Raggy Levy
  • The BeachBoys – Vegetables
  • Les Paul & Mary Ford – Smoke Rings
  • Les Paul & Mary Ford – How High the Moon
  • Rosemary Clooney – Come On-A My House
  • Sonny Clark – Junka
  • Chris Bear – Gatsby Intro

All Music

A hunnid percent tunes this week. Beginning with slower-moving morning jams, and transitioning into more energetic feelings, with a 4-track set of A Tribe Called Red to cap things off.

Here is the file


  • My Morning Jacket – Only Memories Remain
  • Blaze Foley – If I Could Only Fly
  • Tommy Guerrero – Cut The Reins
  • Beck – Debra
  • Hugh Masekela – Riot
  • Spoon – Inside Out
  • Beck, St. Vincent – Uneventful Days
  • The Polish Ambassador – Shine
  • M.I.A. – Bird Song, Diplo Remix
  • A Tribe Called Red – Eanan
  • A Tribe Called Red – NDN Kars, Remix
  • A Tribe Called Red – Bread & Cheese (feat. Black Bear)
  • A Tribe Called Red – Look at This, Remix

The Sweet and Sour Variety Hour broadcasts to about a million humans every Wednesday morning via the incredibly valuable terrestrial radio frequency of 101.7FM

The Free Wheel and The Real News

Instagram @ssvhradio

Every Wednesday morning at 8, the program made up of segments produced by community members airs again! This week, we have [most of] the Songs of the Year list for 2019 hot off the press from The Free Wheel ‘zine. After that, we hear a news clip from TRNN about how the RCMP DGAF about murdering peaceful civilians on behalf of an oil corporation. WTAF, eh? Dimitri Lascaris is on the case. Thanks, Dimitri. Thanks Real News. Donate here if you can

Here is this weeks Sweet and Sour Variety Hour ripe for the downloadin’


  • One South Lark – Japanese Soda
  • Yeasayer – Ecstatic Baby
  • The New Pornographers – Falling Down the Stairs of Your Love
  • Tame Impala – Borderline
  • Pinegrove – Phase
  • Wye Oak – Fortune
  • Men I Trust – Tailwhip
  • Billie Elish – Ilomilo
  • Caroline Polachek – Door
  • Sigrid – Never Mine
  • Better Oblivion Community Center – Dylan Thomas
  • Sharon Van Etten – Seventeen
  • The Highwomen – Highwomen
  • The Real News Network: Canada’s Cops Were Ready to Shoot Indigenous Anti-Pipeline Activists RCMP officers were instructed to use as much violence as they wanted at the blockade of the Coastal Gaslink Pipeline. Kanahus Manuel, an indigenous activist in British Columbia, said it’s part of Canada’s long colonial legacy.

Instagram @ssvhradio

Hundred Mile Diet

Kicking off the new Gregorian year with some thick CanCon tracks.

Here is the file, airing on New Years Day, 8AM on CHLY 101.7FM

Carmanah – I did it all for you
Carmanah – Roots
Blue Moon Marquee – Shading Tree
Carolyn Mark – Flaming Star
Carolyn Mark – Not Like the Movies
Painted Fruits – Gender
Painted Fruits – Mechanical Rhythm
Great Speckled Fritillary – Polar Star
Wolf Parade – Fine Young Cannibals
Wolf Parade – Solders Grin
Wolf Parade – Lousy Pictures
Aaron James and the Black Water – Fear II
Harp’Axe – She’s Got
Harp’Axe – Get Out

Dubmatix – Wicked Part of Town