Tag Archives: podcast

Stories and Music

Airing live at 8am PST on Wednesday,  August 30th.  Lots of music, and  some talking, but I’d bet you’d find it interesting!

Listen Here

Here’s the tracklist:
Kinobe – Slip into Something More Comfortable
Author Michael Pollan talks about food (20 minutes)
Royksopp – So Easy
Christine and the Queens – It
Former Vogue Editor, Joan Juliet Buck tells the story of her haunted apartment in Paris (15 minutes)
Big Dee Irwin – Swing on a Star
Mel Torme – Coming Home
Juana Molina – Cosoco
About MAPS and Psychedelic Therapy (4 minutes)

Coming to a venue near us!

This week on The Sweet and Sour Variety Hour features music from artists who have upcoming shows in the CHLY broadcast range!

Listen Here


Twin Bandit –  Everything Under the Sun
1st Annual Gabriola Music Festival September 2-3

Bonobo – Cirrus
Bonobo – Kong
Malkin Bowl Vancouver, September 15

Phantogram – Turn it Off
Arcade Fire – Mountains Beyond Mountains
Both bands play at the Pacific Coliseum Vancouver, October 14th

Beck – Scarecrow
Orpheum Vancouver, August 24th (today!)

D.D. Dumbo – Walrus
Biltmore Cabaret Vancouver, September 16

Born Ruffians – Badonkadonkey
Born Ruffians – Sole Brother
Sugar in Victoria, September 28th

The B52’s- Dirty Back Road
PNE Amphetheatre Vancouver, August 30th

The New Pornographers – Mass Romantic
Sugar in Victoria, September 28th

Reverend Horton Heat – Victory Lap
Commodore Ballroom Vancouver, September 7th

The Devil Makes Three – Hand Back Down
Commodore Ballroom Vancouver, November 12th

Sprinkled with Ween

Aired live on CHLY 101.7fm at 8am PST on Wednesday August 16th, 2017
This week has a few different genres represented, with a generous sprinkling of Ween throughout.
I’ve been listening to a lot of Ween lately…

Listen to the episode here
Subscribe to the RSS feed here

Here is the tracklist:
Hortense Ellis – I’ve Got a Secret
Ween- Pandy Fackler
Vulfpeck – Fugue State
Beck – Modern Guilt
Ween – Sweetheart
Meat Puppets – Aurora Borealis
Deerhunter – T.H.M
The Olympians – Apollo’s Mood
Ween – I Fell In Love Today
Bobby Oroza – This Love, Pt 1
Charles Bradley – You Think I Dont Know
Lee Fields & The Expressions – Precious Love
Mocky – How It Goes
Mocky – Put It In a Song
Lee Fields & The Expressions – Never Be Another You
Vince Guaraldi Trio – Little Birdie

Heat Wave Psych-out

Airing on Wednesday August 2nd, this week’s show is an hour of non-stop music. Some creamy and sparkling psychedelic rock, to be exact.

Here is the file

Morgan Delt – Escape Capsule
Heron Oblivion – Your Hollows
Triptides – Wake
Light Fantastic – Two Guitars
The Donkeys – Ride the Black Wave
The Psychic Alliance – Great God Pan
The Psychic Alliance – Yesteryear
Landlady – Solid Brass
Stef Chura – Spotted Gold
Brett Smiley – Queen of Hearts
Mega Bog – Fwee
Forth Wanderers – Nerves
WHY? – This Ole King
Hoops – Rules
Diet Cig – Harvard
Modern Lakes – A Long Goodbye