Tag Archives: SSVH

Happy Birthday Tom Roden

My radio pal turns 88 this week! He has a collection of vinyl records in the tens of thousands. Every week he chooses an hours worth, just for the dear listeners of CHLY. They are recorded directly from his vinyl turntable, broadcast to the Salish Sea every Monday at 11am PST, and then never to be heard again! For the songs on this week’s Sweet and Sour Variety Hour, I reached back over the 88 years Tom has been alive. All of us fans sure appreciate his continued dedication and for carefully curating snippets of interesting songs and stories on What’s Next. 

Here is the file

Tracklist coming soon

It sweet. It sour.

This week on the show, 90% tunes, 10% news.

Here is the file

Javelin – Estevez

Javelin – Cowpoke

La Luz – Call Me in the Day
Phil Cordell – Red Lady
Emitt Rhodes – Somebody Made For Me
Lion – You’ve Got a Woman
Shintaro Sakamoto – Mask on Mask
Kings Go Forth- High on Your Love
The Ruby Suns – Oh, Mojave
Goat Girl – Cracker Drool
Shannon and the Clams – Ozma
Shannon and the Clams – Rip Van Winkle
Natural Child – Sure is Nice
Guantanamo Baywatch – Barbacoa

The Real News Network

Elvis Presley – Mystery Train

Half Women, Half Sweetdreams

This week on The Sweet and Sour Variety Hour (which is also on Instagram as @ssvhradio), women singing folk songs, and the nearly whole album from Nanaimo band, Sweetdreams. 100% music!

The file for broadcast on CHLY 101.7fm on Wednesday May 29th at 8AM PST

That tracklist, tho.

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – We The Common
My Bubba – Big Bad Good
Hurray for the Riff Raff – Blue Ridge Mountain
Malvina Reynolds – Little Boxes
Judy Henske – Till the Real Thing Comes Along
Adia Victoria – Stuck in the South
Molly Drake – Little Weaver Bird
Caroline Rose – Blood on Your Bootheels
Sweetdreams – Deborah Harry
Sweetdreams – Half the Man
Sweetdreams – Story man
Sweetdreams – Queen of the Castle
Sweetdreams – This is It
Sweetdreams – Wish It Was Only a Dream
Sweetdreams – Blue Turns to Black
Sweetdreams – Bedtime Story
Sweetdreams – Quit Falling Down

New Releases and The Real News

This week on The Sweet and Sour Variety Hour!!! 45 minutes of brand new music, and then we hear an episode from The Real News Network.

Here is the file, airing live on CHLY 101.7FM at 8AM PST on May 8th 2019

Black Keys – Eagle Birds
Black Keys – Lo/Hi
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – This Thing
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard – Fishing for Fishies
Whitehorse – Strike Me Down
Foxygen – Mona
The Frightnrs- Make Up Your Mind
Vampire Weekend – Sympathy
Bon Entendeur -La Rua Mardueira
Violent Femmes, Tom Verlaine – Hotel Last Resort
The Real News Network
Rising Appalachia feat. Ani DiFranco – Speak Out

All News

From the climate crisis to Julian Assange, on today’s Sweet and Sour Variety Hour we hear experts weigh in on the topics of the day.

Here is the file, airing live on CHLY 101.7fm to 40 coastal communities at 8AM PST

The Real News Network: Canada Warming Faster

Richard Wolff: Economic Update

Clips from Democracy Now!: Noam Chomsky and Jeffery Robertson on the arrest of Julian Assange

From “Activism Munich”, comments about the Assange case: Edward Snowden, Yanis Varoufakis, Glenn Greenwald, Srecko Horvat, Noam Chomsky